Virginia Commonwealth University

Make it real.

VDOT Awards Funds for Safe Routes to School

March 13, 2012

By Pia Talwar
Capital News Service

RICHMOND – The Virginia Department of Transportation has awarded 18 communities a total of $5.9 million this year through the Safe Routes to School program.

Funds awarded in the 2012 grant cycle are slated for projects designed to make bicycling and walking to school safer and more appealing for students at 28 elementary and middle schools.

“The Safe Routes to School program’s primary goal is to support communities that want to make walking and bicycling to school a safe and convenient option for children,” Gov. Bob McDonnell said in a prepared statement.

“By providing these funds, as well as technical assistance to Virginia communities, we are helping to reduce congestion, improve air quality and promote other transportation choices. We also are encouraging healthy habits that we hope will transform into healthy lifestyles as these children grow.”

The SRTS program is designed for localities, schools and nonprofits seeking to improve walking and bicycling opportunities for children in kindergarten through eighth grade.
The statewide program is funded by the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Highway Administration.

Localities have been awarded funds for various projects to benefit schools, including pedestrian and bicycle crossings, sidewalks, multi-use trails and safety signs.
Local governments can apply for 2013 funding beginning this summer.

Schools and Communities Awarded Funding

Cities and counties:
Alexandria – Matthew Maury Elementary School, Mount Vernon Combined School, William Ramsey Elementary School and James Polk Elementary School
Colonial Heights – Colonial Heights Middle School
Falls Church – Mt. Daniel Elementary School and Mary Ellen Henderson Middle School
Galax – Galax Elementary School
Manassas Park – Manassas Park Middle School
City of Roanoke – Garden City Elementary School
Staunton – McSwain Elementary School
Waynesboro – Westwood Hills Elementary School, William Perry Elementary School, Wenonah Elementary School and Kate Collins Middle School
Fairfax County – Terra Centre Elementary School
Fauquier County – Cedar Lee Middle School
Lynchburg – Perrymont Elementary School, Thomas C. Miller Elementary School and Dearington Elementary School

Ashland – Henry Clay Elementary School
Blacksburg – Harding Avenue Elementary School and Margaret Beeks Elementary School
Chincoteague – Chincoteague Elementary School and Chincoteague Combined School
Colonial Beach – Colonial Beach Elementary School
Stanley – Stanley Elementary School
Vienna – Cunningham Park Elementary School
West Point – West Point Elementary School and West Point Middle School

On the Web

For more information about the Safe Routes to School program, visit

This article was published by such CNS subscribers as the Gainesville Times.